20 Births Later: My Thoughts on Being a Doula

20 Births Later: My Thoughts on Being a Doula

Reading this reflection on 20 births into The Feminist Breeder’s doula career resonated so deeply with me. I feel like our doula paths have led us to strikingly similar places.

I think the number one takeaway I have from my own 20 births has been <b>Respect Birth</b>. Not <b>Trust Birth</b> like you hear so many people say, but <i>Respect Birth</i>. It seems like a subtle difference, though there have been births I’ve attended that have taught me that birth can take twists and turns along the journey that we cannot anticipate and must always respect.

I look forward to the next 20 births of my doula career and all of the many lessons to be learned!

Leave a Reply

