Higher Love

This lovely birth story was shared on Birth Without Fear and really highlights the difference a doula can make for someone during their labor.

“The pain was getting worse and I remember feeling my contractions start to change from pain to the need to push. I cried out and told Patti I was scared, I told her I didn’t want to do this. I felt a burning sensation and I remember thinking I was tearing. I kept resisting each contraction. I didn’t want it to hurt me. I kept thinking of how I had a episiotomy with my older daughter. I told myself I couldn’t do this. I kept letting the negative thoughts in. Patti (the doula) looked at me as if sensing what I was thinking and told me “You are not tearing, your body is getting ready to push the baby out. If you feel ready to push start pushing. Listen to your body.” I needed to hear those words.

I went from feeling fear to empowered. I was about to have my baby. With each push I was getting closer to meeting my daughter. The last two pushes I cried out, not in pain but rather as almost a war cry. I felt her head and knew I could push her out with the next one, and I did. As soon as she was out the pain was gone. They placed her on my chest and before I even looked her in the eyes I wept. I was so overcome with love I had never experienced anything like this in my whole life. I looked down at her sweet face, I heard my husband and mom crying. I felt so loved and I felt such love. She was beautiful, she was mine. This experience was mine and I did it, I was so proud, I was so humbled.”

Leave a Reply

